Euro 2020 – Republic of Ireland squad against Denmark

Republic of Ireland coach Mick McCarthy has offered Robbie Brady and Ciaran Clark the opportunity to be part of the starting squad for the glory of the Euro 2020 against Denmark.

McCarthy also welcomed the return of forwarding David McGoldrick and the first call of Spurs teenager Troy Parrott, who, like O’Connor, left Stephen Kenny’s under-21 team. Sports enthusiasts from around the world can purchase the Republic Of Ireland Euro Cup Tickets online to enjoy its stunning performances.

Burnley midfielder Brady, who scored against Gibraltar in June, is back after an injury and the last 28-man squad is selected for Dublin’s double-header against New Zealand and Denmark.

Euro 2020 - Republic of Ireland squad against Denmark
Euro 2020 – Republic of Ireland squad against Denmark

Clark, who scored for Newcastle United against West Ham ahead of McCarthy last Saturday, is entering the group for the first time this year after his own injury problems.

McGoldrick missed away games in Georgia and Switzerland last month, but is in good shape and is back in form with Sheffield United before the game against Denmark.

“Robbie was left out last month just because he only played three minutes in the Premier League all season when I named the team,” McCarthy.

I’ll give Robbie time to prepare for Denmark against New Zealand. He is one of the players on the team that will really benefit from the New Zealand match before playing against the Danes.

Ciaran is in the same boat. He had to get back to Newcastle before he could do it with us, but he’s playing well for them now and I impressed him against West Ham last Saturday.

Euro 2020 - Republic of Ireland squad against Denmark
Euro 2020 – Republic of Ireland squad against Denmark

David’s comeback is a big bonus for all of us. Everyone knows how well he has played for us at the European Championship matches he has played this year and he has been brilliant for his club in recent weeks.

James McCarthy wishing to stay with his club Crystal Palace for “personal reasons”, McCarthy will join for the New Zealand match before the end of the match against Denmark.

O’Connor, suspended for the European Under-21 qualifying match in Armenia, will face New Zealand, and then join Stephen Kenny’s team for his Sweden clash at Tallaght Stadium.

“The advantage of the friendly game before the competitive game is that it allows me to try some things and give the player’s time to play,” added McCarthy.

Lee being suspended for the first of two under-21 games, this is the perfect opportunity to watch him in the friendly, to introduce him to senior international football and see how he will manage.

Euro 2020 - Republic of Ireland squad against Denmark
Euro 2020 – Republic of Ireland squad against Denmark

I am impressed by him for the 21 years and I know how important it is for them for this match against Sweden. It’s a win-win for all concerned.

Likewise, Troy Parrott is on the team for the first time and he will play against New Zealand next Thursday. He only has to look at how Aaron Connolly was last successful in Georgia and Switzerland to seize the opportunity that presents itself to him now.

The same thing will apply to other players who will have a chance against New Zealand and who can give me ideas for the match against Denmark.

We know this is the game we need to win and I look forward to entering the camp on Sunday and starting to work with these players again.

McCarthy included Darren Randolph, Middlesbrough goaltender, Wolves defenseman Matt Doherty and Hearts Glenn Whelan in his final squad after the three victims’ positive reports of their injuries.

Euro 2020 - Republic of Ireland squad against Denmark
Euro 2020 – Republic of Ireland squad against Denmark

“They will all be in Dublin and they are eager to see him as much as I do,” concluded the Irish boss.

Republic of Ireland squad
Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph, Kieran O’Hara, Mark Travers.

Defenders: Ciaran Clark, Enda Stevens, Derrick Williams, Lee O’Connor, Matt Doherty, Shane Duffy, Kevin Long, John Egan.

Midfielders: Conor Hourihane, James McClean, Alan Browne, Josh Cullen, Jeff Hendrick, Callum O’Dowda, Glenn Whelan, Jack Byrne, Robbie Brady

Forwards: Aaron Connolly, David McGoldrick, James Collins, Scott Hogan, Sean Maguire, Callum Robinson, Troy Parrott, Alan Judge

Football fans can get Euro Cup Tickets through our trusted online ticketing marketplace. is the most reliable source to book Euro 2020 tickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *